My contribution to the weekly Newsletter

The Virtual Branch I attend here in China has a weekly newsletter for the Relief Society Sisters. I was asked to contribute my thoughts on the topic of Chinese food. I was told to take it in any direction so here is what I ended up with…

Coming to China has been one of the biggest adventures of my life, and an experience I wouldn’t trade for the world. I never had the desire to visit Asia let alone live here, but life often takes us down paths we could never have imagined. Before coming to China my idea of Chinese food was terrible egg foo young and soggy chow mein, neither of which I would eat voluntarily. It was not until arriving in China did I realize American Chinese Restaurants had it all wrong, authentic Chinese food is delicious well all except those extra surprises. The more I travel the more adventurous I become. When it comes to food I will try anything once but reserve the right to decline any second helpings. Some of the foods I would hardly touch at home have become my favorites here, for example, eggplant, radishes and clams.

Not only have I branched out with the food I eat, but I am also learning so many things that I will be able to take with me as I continue on my journey through life. I am going on my second year here in Weifang and am once again living on my own. Here at my new school I no longer have a convenient canteen from which to purchase my meals so I am learning to cook. I still have the occasional battle with a pot of water to which I lose (no exaggeration) but overall my cooking skills are improving slowly. Each week I’ve tried to add a new dish to my can do list, pulling from both Chinese and Western cuisines. I collect the recipes from a variety of sources but my favorites thus far have been ones gathered from my Chinese friends. As I am sure we have all experienced, when asking a Chinese to share their culture and know-how a wealth of knowledge is bestowed with the utmost enthusiasm. My favorite Chinese dish tu dou si (shredded potatoes) is still on the trying very hard list of foods as it is much harder to make then it looks. I have had cooking lessons from both students and friends, and am looking forward to many more to come.

As cliche as it is, I’ve change so much here in China. I have come to realize that in my life and most assuredly in my travels the Lord directs me to the places I need to be. The places in which I will grow the most, in order to become the person he knows I can become. I know that my Savior lives, I know that no matter the trial we currently face we can turn to him for guidance and comfort. I know that as we enjoy and immerse ourselves in the experiences provided to us in mortality we will gain rich experiences that will help us draw closer to the Lord. As I have struggled in China over the last 14 months I have come to recognize the Lord’s hand in my life more then ever before. China is a unique opportunity that the Lord has given to each and every one of us. I hope that I along with each of you can make the most of this opportunity.

Leave a comment

Ordain Women

Mormon women seeking equality and ordination to the priesthood

Operation: Full Passport!

Welcome to my travel blog!

Reflections in Red

raising awareness of sexual violence & reflecting on a healthier sexuality

HOPE61: Human Trafficking Prevention

Raising Awareness. Equipping the Church.

Anti Trafficking

Save them from jackals & wolfs!