Dinner / Breakfast with the Family

Everyone dig in!

I Skyped home this morning and caught the family about to sit down for dinner. As the house is now hooked up with Wi-Fi and Ammon was already at the table I got to join in. So as I enjoyed a bowl of Chocolate & Hazelnut Museli for Friday breakfast the family had Thursday night dinner. Family dinners are what I miss most about leaving home.

Dinner as a family was not an option growing up, for which I will always be grateful. No matter how busy the schedules got with school, work and outside commitments consistent family meals were are intricate part of the Reagan household. Although I would start at the table I would rarely finish at the table in my younger years but as I grew up dinner time is something I came to cherish. It was a time for everyone to talk about their day. Heated conversations, debates and a volley of opinions were always being discussed in a less than formal manner. Anyone who has ever had the opportunity to eat with my family knows firsthand the difficulty it is to get a word in if you can’t make your self heard or keep up with the speed with which we bounce through topics.

For those who have not had the fortune of eating with my family watch the dinner scene in ‘While You Where Sleeping’ its my family’s favorite. We practically have the dialog memorized and if we find the conversation lacking at the table we just start quoting for pure entertainment. If the speed with which we race through topics isn’t dizzy enough there is always at least two conversations going with which everyone is expected to participate in both simultaneously. My mother has often apologized to guests as we rarely stop to clarify for anyone left behind.

Today’s dinner/breakfast was no different. As everyone sat down and started, guests arrived and the chaos began. Conversations started and opinions were coming from all over, those sitting, those arriving, someone was lost, new topic started, where were we, so that’s what I was trying to say, no Ammon you got that wrong, wait so that reminds me… Oh how I miss dinner as a family.

2 thoughts on “Dinner / Breakfast with the Family

  1. How wonderful. I love your family. So great you got to share that moment with them and feel a little bit of home.

  2. Kayte. I love your blog. I have to make time on my break everyday to see what you are up to. You have a way of cheering me up no matter how bad my day is. Keep up the writing. i am glad you got to have a meal with your family. I think that is way cool.
    Martha

Leave a comment

Ordain Women

Mormon women seeking equality and ordination to the priesthood

Operation: Full Passport!

Welcome to my travel blog!

Reflections in Red

raising awareness of sexual violence & reflecting on a healthier sexuality

HOPE61: Human Trafficking Prevention

Raising Awareness. Equipping the Church.

Anti Trafficking

Save them from jackals & wolfs!