Its official!

Saturday morning Kelly and I set out to assess the damage. The road was blocked clear to the train station and no traffic is allowed in or out via Qingnian Road, or so we were told.
The only way out!

We set out and sure enough upon exiting the campus we noticed an empty street. (Just to be clear on school faces north two city blocks west of Qingnian Rd) We walked to the end of our road where it meets Qingnian, a blue construction fence had been put up overnight.

A narrow cut out allows pedestrians and cyclist through. 

Upon exiting our street I was astounded at the sight beyond. With the speed of deconstruction I could hardly believe the finish date to be so far off. But I guess here in lies China’s personality, tear it all up, let it sit for a while then get back to it to finish it up.  

 
Finding the gate to my street is a maze of sorts.

When we returned this afternoon the path back to our road had changed. Yes, we are walking through an active construction zone with only party decorations separating  us from the more dangerous areas.

Qingnian Road – When they rip up a rode they rip up a road!

 The outer fence of the blockade was up and plastered with advertisements just as quickly. The closest bus stop is now a brisk 30 min walk.

When I saw the advertisements I knew I was doomed.

  

Only in China does heavy construction take place within a hop and skip of the walking path.

Leave a comment

Ordain Women

Mormon women seeking equality and ordination to the priesthood

Operation: Full Passport!

Welcome to my travel blog!

Reflections in Red

raising awareness of sexual violence & reflecting on a healthier sexuality

HOPE61: Human Trafficking Prevention

Raising Awareness. Equipping the Church.

Anti Trafficking

Save them from jackals & wolfs!