Oh by the way…

“Many Westerners plan their schedules at the beginning of the day, or perhaps a day of two in advance. If you would like to meet with a Westerner, you should generally call at least a day in advance. If you want to invite a  Westerner to dinner, you should plan it about one week in advance. If you are planning a party, you should give one or two weeks advance notice. If you do not, the person might plan something else during that time slot. Some people may have a flexible schedule and do not follow this pattern. However, in the Western culture, having a schedule is stressed as a form of good planning and organization in one’s life. ”  – pg 26 Challenge to Speak Student Edition

Now if I could just pass that passage around to all the Chinese I come in contact with. Just to be clear I’m not asking for the two weeks notice here, I’m just saying TWO days would be nice. I can easily rearrange my schedule with two days notice.

Last week I’d made plans to go out this evening, they’d changed of course over the week but by this morning they were set! At lunch James springs on me that today was the Korean girl’s birthday. Oh by the way, there will be a dinner for her at 5:30. I couldn’t brush off another dinner. As by the end of last semester I’d stopped rearranging my schedule last min. I called around made new plans and headed for the Dining Hall.

Dinner was pleasant, the usual mouth watering meals, octopus, jellyfish, radish soup, etc. I’m still trying to get use to being the one explaining the ropes to the newbie. Banquet etiquette is a big one and I tried my best.

Towards the end of the meal Shiggy asked if we were still going out as we had invited him to join us a few days ago (note the advanced invitation). He asked if we’d left the school yet today. I was a little puzzled by his comment and admitted I hadn’t yet left the school. He then, much to my horror, began to relate the current state of construction at the end of our road.

James soon chimed in to confirm that the buses were no longer running to the front of the school or along the main road due east of the school. Essentially we have been cut off from town. No cabs, cars or buses are allowed along Qingnian Rd until construction is finished. They are currently trying to update and widen the road as it is becoming a main artery into town. James then recounted oh by the way, the projected completion date is June 22. Yes I typed that correctly the MAIN ROAD along the river will be closed for 3 1/2 months! Well that inconvenient truth merited another round of drinks for everyone and left me fuming. The closest place to catch the bus, as James learned by sad experience this morning on his commute to work is 1.5km up the road!

Well so much for going out tonight that’s for sure. I was ranting the entire walk back to the apartment. Katie and Brad both got more than they bargained for when they took my call this evening. If its not one thing it sure seems to be another around here. Just as I was warming up to the idea of sticking around this school for another semester or so I’m reminded why I want to leave so bad. Location, location, location. Really people how do you cut off a main road like this for 3 and 1/2 months!

I guess I have a weekend to assess the damage and find a solution. Hey life’s all about learning to live with the bumps right?!

Leave a comment

Ordain Women

Mormon women seeking equality and ordination to the priesthood

Operation: Full Passport!

Welcome to my travel blog!

Reflections in Red

raising awareness of sexual violence & reflecting on a healthier sexuality

HOPE61: Human Trafficking Prevention

Raising Awareness. Equipping the Church.

Anti Trafficking

Save them from jackals & wolfs!