Business English Competition

A few weeks ago I was approached by a student about judging and English competition I figured I’d wait for Wendy to mention something before I made any inquires. I’m not going to lie, I was hoping the comment would come to nothing, what do I know about judging an English competition.

No luck, Wendy approached me last Friday and asked if I would be willing to participate. Of course, for Wendy I’d do anything. As the Foreign Teacher I was to ask questions for the practical application section.

2009 Business English Speech Competition
2009 Business English Speech Competition. Yes, I know it says 2008 but "Welcome to China!"

The competition consisted of three parts. First: Read a provided text regarding business. [Students would be judged on pronunciation, intonation and fluency]

Second: Provide and explanation on a graph displayed. The topics varied and so did the graphs. [Students would be judged on content, clarity and explanation]

Third: My part, Answer questions from the foreign teacher using an advertisement provided. No pressure just direct the questions and confuse the poor nervous participants.

I’ve never participated or even watched a language competition before, so can some one please tell me how I qualified to be a judge. Yes I know I speak English but what qualification is that in the world today?

Some examples of the above stated advertisements.

Questions: What three services are provided by this company? Is this a conveient service for the customer?
Questions: What three services are provided by this company? Is this a convenient service for the customer?

 

Questions: To what group of people is this advertisment marketed towards? What are the selling features of this product?
Questions: To what group of people is this advertisement marketed towards? What are the selling features of this product?
The contestants were all sophomore students but the competition was hosted and ran by the freshmen, my favorite class none the less.
Robinson and Roxanne hosted the event, their English was great! I'm not going to lie they are my top students.
Robinson and Roxanne hosted the event, their English was great! I'm not going to lie they are my top students.
During an intermession a few students sang songs, it took me about two verses to figure out these girls were singing in English.
During an intermission a few students sang songs, it took me about two verses to figure out these girls were singing in English.
Matinda took 1st! I felt it was well deserved. (She is my Chinese tutor, she teaches in English)
Matinda took 1st! I felt it was well deserved. (She is my Chinese tutor, she teaches in English)
The panel of judges and winners.
The panel of judges and winners.
After the competition the teachers presented me with a beautiful kite.
"Zhou Jing" one of the Seven Bueaties in Chinese Literature
"Zhou Jing" one of the Seven Beauties in Chinese Literature

Leave a comment

Ordain Women

Mormon women seeking equality and ordination to the priesthood

Operation: Full Passport!

Welcome to my travel blog!

Reflections in Red

raising awareness of sexual violence & reflecting on a healthier sexuality

HOPE61: Human Trafficking Prevention

Raising Awareness. Equipping the Church.

Anti Trafficking

Save them from jackals & wolfs!