Christmas with the Children

KeXin and her Christmas TreeI walked into class feeling completely prepared with a min by min planned lesson. It never goes as planned, the children caught be off guard from the very beginning. I decided to make the board festive and drew a Christmas tree, I left it blank as I continued setting up for class.

Ke Xin the student I walk to class with proudly shouted out “Christmas Tree!”  “I decorate?”. I wasn’t expecting much, but boy did she knock my socks off.

First she added strings of lights, bows, bells, stars, candy canes and ornaments. I was shocked, well her English teacher in school was thorough. So my lesson was not going to be as planned at that point. I was thinking vocabulary lesson here but instead we moved to sentence structure and prepositions. I at least learning to think on my feet.

Our Class! My favorite had to be the Primary song “Once There was a Snowman.” First we built a snowman on the board and sang the song and helped in melt.

While building they corrected me I had cut buttons for the eyes but they insisted using them for the body. They keep me honest that’s for sure.

Yes I’ve fallen in love with my children’s classes.

Leave a comment

Ordain Women

Mormon women seeking equality and ordination to the priesthood

Operation: Full Passport!

Welcome to my travel blog!

Reflections in Red

raising awareness of sexual violence & reflecting on a healthier sexuality

HOPE61: Human Trafficking Prevention

Raising Awareness. Equipping the Church.

Anti Trafficking

Save them from jackals & wolfs!