I have Western company

Some of you were under the false impression that this trip took an unimaginable amount of guts on my part, let me just clear that up. True I was suppose to be accompanied by a friend but when that fell through I still decided to come. I took the job knowing I would not be the only American at the school and not only would there be a fellow American there would be two who already knew the ropes.   So taking guts, not necessarily it wasn’t like I signed up for a year in Inner Mongolia (wait that really doesn’t seem so foreign now that I’m this close to it) okay lets try Chad. So its not like I signed up for a year in Chad to teach at a school where I would be the only American or English speaker for miles. So on that note here are my fellow ex-pats.

Adam and Dantzelle have arrived, this is their second round in China and at this school. I had spoken with Dantzelle when I was originally looking at coming and she had nothing but praises for the country and school. When she mentioned they would be returning that was the clincher.Any school with that kind of teacher retention held up their end of the bargain in my opinion.

So quick bio with their permission of course. They are both originally from Rexburg, no comments,  they will read this. Adam attends BYUI and Dantzelle graduated from school in Idaho Falls. Members obviously. Adam speaks Chinese, which is a real relief and has plenty of Chinese material and has kindly offered to share. My language idol he speaks Hmong, Chinese and German. How awesome is that!

They know the ropes as mentioned before which makes going into town a breeze and they know all the local spots on day one! Oh and Adam reads Characters so signs, no problem! To their disappointment their favorite noodle shop has been leveled for a parking lot. They have high hopes in finding it relocated.

It has brought real peace of mind to teaching next week as they have patiently born my grilling in regards to classes and what to expect. I look forward to this coming year with experienced teachers at the helm.

Leave a comment

Ordain Women

Mormon women seeking equality and ordination to the priesthood

Operation: Full Passport!

Welcome to my travel blog!

Reflections in Red

raising awareness of sexual violence & reflecting on a healthier sexuality

HOPE61: Human Trafficking Prevention

Raising Awareness. Equipping the Church.

Anti Trafficking

Save them from jackals & wolfs!